FLI Network

The First-Generation, Limited-Income (FLI) Network engages students and graduates by connecting community members with shared identities. The network’s aim is to enhance student success by cultivating a sense of belonging, inclusion, encouragement, and resilience among first-generation and/or limited-income students, faculty, staff, alumni, and allies.

Definitions

  • First-generation students are typically from families whose parents, guardians and/or other custodial family members have not earned a four-year college degree.
  • Limited-income students are those with little to no family contribution or limited financial means. These students often receive need-based federal Pell grant assistance.
  • FLI graduates are faculty or staff that attended and graduated from college as a first-generation and/or limited-income student.
  • FLI students are first-generation, limited-income, or both.
  • FLI Friends are Non-FLI students, faculty, staff or alumni dedicated to supporting the success of FLI students

Join the Network

If you are a first-generation or limited-income student, alumni, faculty, or staff member, or are simply interested in serving as an FLI ally, please consider joining our FLI Network.

As a member, you’ll be listed on our community directory, be invited to FLI events, and receive our monthly newsletter to stay in the know about the latest updates and opportunities pertaining to the FLI community. You will also receive ‘FLI swag’ such as t-shirts, water bottles and laptop decals to show your pride and solidarity for the community.

Students receive additional benefits by joining, which include:

  • Leadership Opportunities: FLI student leaders and ambassadors.
  • Community Connections: Faculty dinners, FLI pre-orientation and retreats.
  • Professional Development: etiquette dinners, shadowing opportunities, FLI job search series, professional development retreats, and more.

See what the community is up to by following us on Instagram and LinkedIn.

Tom McDermott headshotThe struggles and obstacles you navigate on a daily basis can sometimes leave you feeling both exhausted and isolated. Talk to your friends, be creative in your problem solving, ask for help, and above all else, persevere! All of these things will serve you well later on when you enter the work force full-time. – Tom McDermott, JHU staff member and FLI graduate

Network Members

Staff

Read stories and advice from JHU staff who were from first-generation and/or limited-income backgrounds.

NameTitle/DepartmentEmail AddressIdentification
Sharleen ArgamasoAcademic Services Administrator, Academic Advisingsharleen.argamaso@jhu.eduFLI Friend/JHU Alumni
Allison AvolioDeputy to the Dean of Student Lifeaavolio1@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Candice BaldwinDirector, Hop-Incbaldw10@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Lauren BarrettAssistant Director, Life Design Lablbarre11@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Kelly BarryExecutive Director, Center for Student Successkbarry@jhu.edu
FLI Friend/JHU Alumni
Timothy BeaucageStudent Success Advisortbeaucage@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Toni BlackwellSenior Associate Dean of Student Lifetblack13@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Adriene BreckenridgeSenior Academic Advisor, KSAS Academic Advisingbreckag@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Amanda ColaianniUniversity Administration, Annual Giving Officeracolaia1@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Joseph ColonDirector; Multicultural Affairscolon@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Moses DavisAssociate Dean, Diversity & Inclusionmosesdavis@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Victoria DaweEvent Planner, Admissionsvictoria.dawe@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Susi FerradasStaff Psychologist, Counseling Centersferrad1@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Joan FreedmanStudent Success AdvisorJoanFreedman@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Keri FrischPartnership Manager, Public Healthkfrisch3@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
LeTia Green-TetteyAdmissions Officer, Admissions and Joint Degree Programslgreent1@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Bill HarringtonSenior Associate Director, Athletics and Director of Recreationaggie@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Bailey JackelenAssistant Director, Undergraduate Admissionsbailey.jackelen@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Jon KindredAssistant Director of Athletics/Compliance & Operationsjkindre1@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Jessica KupperDirector, Office of Residential Lifejkupper2@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Regine Laforest-SharifAssociate Director, University Housingrlafore1@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Nickolas LantzExecutive Director, University Experiential Learningnlantz2@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Bri LaukaStudent Success Advisorblauka1@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Leslie LeathersStaff Psychologist, Counseling Centerlleathe3@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Tiffany LlewellynClinical Social Worker, Counseling Centertllewel2@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Jessie MartinAssistant Dean for KSAS Academic Advisingjessie@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Pamela MasonStudent Financial Services, HSA Financial Aid Administratorpmason12@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Terri Massie-BurrellDirector, Student Disability Servicestmassie1@jhu.eduFLI Graduate/JHU Alumni
Tom McDermottAssistant Vice Provost, Student Financial Servicestmcderm1@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Cara McNamaraSchool of Arts & Sciences, Academic Advisorcmcnama8@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Durriya MeerAssociate Director Counseling Center, Counseling Centerdmeer1@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Kesta MedoitProgram Coordinator, Center for Student Successkmedoit1@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Shannon MillerDirector of On-Campus Programs, Undergraduate Admissionsshannon.miller@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Shakeyla MitchellStudent Outreach and Support, Student Life Administratorsmitch62@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Margaret MurphyArt Workshop Manager, Center for Visual Artsmmurp102@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Taylor MyersAdmissions Officer, Undergraduate Admissionstaylor.myers@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Jessica OrosAssistant Director of Student Conductjoros1@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Kwame PhillipsAssistant Director for Programming, Office of Multicultural Affairskphill49@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Kaitlin Quigley Assistant Director of Academic Support, Office of Academic Supportquigley@jhu.edu FLI Graduate
Kathy SchnurrChaplain, Religious and Spiritual Life/Interfaith Centerkschnurr@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Alanna ShanahanVice Provost for Student Affairsashanah1@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Catherine ShappellCommunications Specialist, VPSA Administrative Teamcshappe1@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Denise ShipleySenior Academic Advisor, WSE Academic Advisingdlshipley@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Eric SimmonsAcademic Advisor, WSE Academic Advisingeric.simmons@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Kathie SindtAssociate Director, KSAS Academic Advisingsindtk@gmail.comFLI Friend
Calvin SmithDirector of Student Leadership and Involvementclsmith@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Kay SmithAssociate Registrar Compliance & Degree Completion, Office of the Registrar (Homewood)ksmit174@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Tracy SmithResearch Program Manager, Undergraduate Researchtracysmith@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Scott SpencerDirector of IT and Application Development, Office of the Registrar (Homewood)Scott.Spencer@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Bre StiflerDonor Relations Officer, Bloomberg Philanthropiesbre.stifler@jhu.eduFLI Graduate/JHU Alumni
Shawntay StocksAssistant Director, Engaged Scholarship, Center for Social Concernsstocks3@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Dana Walter-ShockSr. Academic Program Coordinator, Dept of Electrical and Computer Engineering dwalte10@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Dynita WashingtonExecutive Specialist, Sr. Advisor to President Officedynitaw@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Leslie WeberDirector Montgomery County Campuslweber@jhmi.eduFLI Graduate
Andy WilsonDean of Academic and Student Servicesandy.wilson@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Calvin WiseDirector of Recruitment, Undergraduate Admissionscalvin.wise@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Andrea WisemanAssistant Director, Life Design Labawiseman@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Teresa WonnellDirector, Assessment & Analysistwonnell@jhu.eduFLI Friend

Faculty

NameTitle/DepartmentEmail AddressIdentification
Ludwig BrandProfessor Emeritus, BiologyLudwig.Brand@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
AnneElizabeth BrodskySenior Lecturer, Expository Writingaembrodsky@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Maria BulzacchelliAssistant Research Professor, Public Healthmbulzac1@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Beryl CastelloSenior Lecturer, Applied Mathematics & Statisticsberyl.castello@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Kristin Cook-GailloudSenior Lecturer, German and Romance Languageskacg@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Brint CooperAssociate Research Professor, Electrical & Computer Energyabcooper@jhu.eduFLI Graduate/JHU Alumni
Tristan DaviesSenior Lecturer, Writing Seminarstdavies@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Linda DeLiberoSpecial Advocate for Alumni and Outreach; Film & Media Studieslindadelibero@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Baldeep Dhaliwal Research Associate, School of Public Health bdhaliw1@jhu.edu FLI Graduate
Marc DonohueProfessor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineeringmdd@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Nicholas DurrAssistant Professor, Biomedical Engineeringndurr@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
William EggintonProfessor, German & Romance Languagesbtaylo50@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Francois FurstenbergProfessor, Historyf.furstenberg@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Eduardo GonzálezProfessor, German & Romance Languageseduardo.gonzalez@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Claude GuillemardSenior Lecturer, German & Romance Languagesclaude@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Rigoberto HernandezProfessor, Chemistry Departmentr.hernandez@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Christopher HoneyAssistant Professor, Psychological & Brain Scienceschris.honey@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Todd HufnagelProfessor, Materials Science & Engineeringhufnagel@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Muhammad HusainSenior Lecturer, Economicsmhusain8@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Illysa Izenberg;Senior Lecturer, CLEizenberg@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Susan KassinAssociate Research Scientist, Physics & Astronomykassin@stsci.eduFLI Graduate
Casey LurtzAssistant Professor, Historylurtz@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Amir ManbachiLecturer, Biomedical Engineeringamir.manbachi@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
John MarshallProfessor, HistoryJmarsha2@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Laura MasonSenior Lecturer, Historylmason@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Tobie Meyer-FongProfessor, Historytmeyerf@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Kumiko OishiAssistant Research Scientist, Center for Imaging Science Facultykumiko@cis.jhu.eduFLI Friend
Yi-Ping OngAssistant Professor, Comparative Thought & Literatureyi-ping.ong@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Tom Özden-SchillingAssistant Professor, Anthropologytos@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Alison PapadakisAssociate Teaching Professor, Psychological & Brain Sciencesalisonpapadakis@jhu.eduFLI Friend
Julie ReiserDirector, Marketing & Communications Program, Center for Leadership Excellencejulie.reiser@gmail.comFLI Graduate
Darlene SaporuAssistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, Krieger & Whiting Schoolsdsaporu1@jhu.eduFLI Friend
David SavittProfessor, Mathematicssavitt@gmail.comFLI Friend
Pam SheffDirector, Center for Leadership Excellencepamsheff@gmail.comFLI Graduate
Sara ThoiAssistant Professor, Chemistrysarathoi@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Christy ThorntonAssistant Professor, Sociologychristy.thornton@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
J. D. TovarProfessor, Chemistrytovar@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Rene VidalProfessor, Center for Imaging Science Facultyrvidal@jhu.eduFLI Graduate
Aliza WattersLecturer, Expository Writingwatters@jhu.eduFLI Friend
John WiermanProfessor, Applied Mathematics & Statisticsjwierma1@gmail.comFLI Graduate
Deborah ZiskaLecturer, AAP Museum Studiesdziska1@jhu.eduFLI Graduate

Alumni

NameGraduation Year
Diego AlbabuClass of 2019
Demy AlfonsoClass of 2017
Sami AyeleClass of 2019
Mariam Banahi Class of 2020
Chamia DorseyClass of 2020
Skylar Freyman Class of 2020
Maria Ortiz Gonzalez Class of 2018
Cori GraingerClass of 2020
Christian Garcia HernandezClass of 2018
Naadiya HutchinsonClass of 2020
Fatima KamaraClass of 2020
Jessica KeeneClass of 2019
Richard KimClass of 2019
Shirley LiClass of 2017
Kiana (Paige) McCootyClass of 2020
Phillips Mitchell Class of 2013
Sara NutterClass of 2020
Dana QuinnClass of 2014
Alex Pasqual Rivera Class of 2018
Isabel SiordiaClass of 2020
Lisa TranClass of 2020
Sharon TruongClass of 2020
Madeleine UraihClass of 2018
Ariadne Villegas Class of 2017
Juliet VillegasClass of 2018
Alice YangClass of 2020

Follow Us

Instagram Glyph Facebook icon LinkedIn icon