Full Season Schedule

Updated May 18, 2018

Concerts

Note: Pre-concert talk one hour before performance each Symphony Orchestra concert. Concert Orchestra performances typically start with chamber ensemble performances.

Symphony Orchestra • Jed Gaylin, Conductor

Saturday Oct 13, 8pm, and Sunday Oct 14, 3pm, IFC
Saturday Dec 1, 8pm, and Sunday Dec 2, 3pm, IFC
Saturday, March 9, 8pm, Shriver Hall
Saturday, April 27 8pm, Shriver Hall

Concert Orchestra • Bunting-Meyerhoff Interfaith Center • Jordan Randall Smith, Conductor • 3pm Concerts

Sunday, September 30, 2018
Sunday, November 11, 2018
Sunday, February 17, 2019

26th Annual Free Family Concert: Sunday, March 10, 3pm

Auditions

Current orchestra members to not need to re-audition. For more info visit our auditions page.

Auditions for the Hopkins Symphony's 2019-2020 season will be held on (subject to change):
DatesTimesInstrumentsLocation
Thursday, Aug 29, 20195 – 8 pmstringsSDS Room, Mattin Center
8 – 10 pm woodwinds/brass
Friday, August 30, 20195 – 8 pmstringsSDS Room, Mattin Center
8 – 10 pm woodwinds/brass
Saturday, August 31, 201810 am – 12 pm woodwinds/brassSDS Room, Mattin Center
1 – 6 pm strings

Orchestra Schedules: Online

The orchestra schedules are also on Google Calendar, which you can link to various online calendars. Please use this link or this link (iCal) to access the calendars.

Symphony Orchestra Rehearsals and Performances

  • Sept-Dec rehearsals in the SDS Room of the Mattin Center. Concerts are at the Bunting-Meyerhoff Interfaith Center (IFC).
  • Jan-April rehearsals rehearsals and concerts in Shriver Hall.
  • All rehearsals are 7–9:30 p.m. except as noted.
  • For directions visit our Venues and Directions page.
  • Contact HSO for parking info.

Ralph Vaughan Williams: The Wasps Overture
Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring Suite
Edvard Grieg: Piano Concerto
w/ Awadagin Pratt, piano

  • Monday, September 3, 2018 — No rehearsal (Labor Day)
  • Monday, September 10, 2018
  • Monday, September 17, 2018
  • Monday, September 24, 2018
  • Monday, October 1, 2018
  • Monday, October 8, 2018, rehearsal at IFC
  • Thursday, October 11, 2018, rehearsal at IFC
  • Friday, October 12, 2018, Dress Rehearsal at IFC
  • Saturday, October 13, 8pm Concert at IFC
  • Sunday, October 14, 3pm Concert at IFC

Luciano Berio: Rendering
W.A. Mozart: Requiem
w/ Lori Hultgren, Soprano; Jessica Renfro, Mezzo-soprano; Min Jin, Tenor; Robert Cantrell, Bass-baritone; & JHU Choral Society and Baltimore School for the Arts chorus

  • Monday, October 15, 2018 — No rehearsal (Rest and recuperation)
  • Monday, October 22, 2018
  • Monday, October 29, 2018
  • Monday, November 5, 2018
  • Monday, November 12, 2018
  • Monday, November 19, 2018 — No rehearsal (JHU Thanksgiving Break)
  • Monday, November 26, 2018, rehearsal at IFC
  • Thursday, November 29, 2018, rehearsal at IFC
  • Friday, November 30, 2018, Dress Rehearsal at IFC
  • Saturday, December 1, 8pm Concert at IFC
  • Sunday, December 2, 3pm Concert at IFC

Franz Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2 in D Minor
Igor Stravinsky: Symphony in C
Johannes Brahms: Double Concerto for Violin and Cello
w/ Kristin Lee, violin & Thomas Mesa, cello

  • Monday, January 28, 2019
  • Monday, February 4, 2019
  • Monday, February 11, 2019
  • Monday, February 18, 2019
  • Thursday, February 21, 2019
  • Monday, February 25, 2019
  • Monday, March 4, 2019
  • Thursday, March 7, 2019
  • Friday, March 8, 2019, Dress Rehearsal
  • Saturday, March 9, 2019 — 8 p.m. Symphony Orchestra performance, Shriver Hall
  • Sunday, March 10, 2019 — 3pm Family Concert, Shriver Hall

James Grant: Entr’acte
Samuel Barber: Violin Concerto
w/ Irina Muresanu, violin
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 8

  • Monday, March 11, 2019 — No rehearsal (Rest and Recuperation)
  • Monday, March 18, 2019— No rehearsal (JHU Spring Break)
  • Monday, March 25, 2019
  • Monday, April 1, 2019
  • Monday, April 8, 2019
  • Monday, April 15, 2019
  • Thursday, April 18, 2019
  • Monday, April 22, 2019
  • Thursday, April 25, 2019
  • Friday, April 26, 2019, Dress Rehearsal
  • Saturday, April 27, 8pm Concert in Shriver Hall

26th Annual Free Family Concert:
Sunday, March 10, 3pm, Shriver Hall

Selections from Liszt Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2 & Stravinsky Symphony in C


Concert Orchestra Rehearsals and Performances

Florence Price: Ethiopia’s Shadow in America, mvt. 2
Franz Doppler: Fantaisie Pastorale Hongroise, Op. 26
w/ Gabriela Nisly, flute
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Suite from Swan Lake, Op. 20

  • Sunday, September 16, 2018, SDS Room, Mattin Center
  • Saturday, September 22, 2018, SDS Room, Mattin Center
  • Sunday, September 23, 2018, SDS Room, Mattin Center
  • Saturday, September 29, 2018, Interfaith Center
  • Sunday, September 30, 2018, 12–2pm — dress rehearsal, Interfaith Center
  • Sunday, September 30, 2018, 3pm — performance, Interfaith Center

Chen Yi: Shuo
Joaquín Turina: La Oracion del Torero, Op. 34
Antonín Dvořák: Notturno in B Major, Op. 40
Edward Elgar: Serenade, Op. 20

  • Saturday, October 27, 2018, SDS Room, Mattin Center
  • Saturday, November 3, 2018, SDS Room, Mattin Center
  • Sunday, November 4, 2018, SDS Room, Mattin Center
  • Saturday, November 10, 2018, Interfaith Center
  • Sunday, November 11, 2018, 12–2pm — dress rehearsal, Interfaith Center
  • Sunday, November 11, 2018, 3pm — performance, Interfaith Center

Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges: Symphony, Op. 11, No. 1, mvt. 1
C.P.E. Bach: Symphony in F Major, Wq. 183/3
Franz Joseph Haydn: Cello Concerto in C Major, mvt. 1
w/ Isabel Won, cello
Franz Joseph Haydn: Symphony No. 83 in G Minor, “The Hen”

  • Saturday, February 2, 2019, SDS Room, Mattin Center
  • Saturday, February 9, 2019, SDS Room, Mattin Center
  • Sunday, February 10, 2019, SDS Room, Mattin Center
  • Saturday, February 16, 2019, Interfaith Center
  • Sunday, February 17, 2019, 12–2pm — dress rehearsal, Interfaith Center
  • Sunday, February 17, 2019, 3pm — performance, Interfaith Center