Full Season Schedule

Updated June 14, 2024


2024-2025 Season Schedule

Concerts

Note: Audience talk-backs directly follow each Symphony Orchestra concert. Concert Orchestra performances typically start with chamber ensemble performances.

Symphony Orchestra • Shriver Hall • Jed Gaylin, Conductor • 7:30pm Concerts

Saturday October 5, 2024
Saturday December 7, 2024
Saturday March 1, 2025
Saturday April 19, 2025

Concert Orchestra • Bunting-Meyerhoff Interfaith Center • 3pm Concerts

Concert #1, Date TBD
Concert #2, Date TBD

31st Annual Free Family Concert: Sunday March 2, 2025, 3pm

Auditions

Current orchestra members to not need to re-audition. For more info visit our auditions page.

Auditions for the Hopkins Symphony's 2024-25 season will be held on (subject to change):
DatesTimesInstrumentsLocation
Thursday, Aug 29, 20245 – 8 pmstringsTBD
8 – 10 pm woodwinds/brass
Friday, Aug 30, 20245 – 8 pmstringsTBD
8 – 10 pm woodwinds/brass
Saturday, Aug 31, 202410 am – 12 pm woodwinds/brassTBD
1 – 6 pm strings

Symphony Orchestra Rehearsals and Performances

HSO Concert Cycle #1: Dvořák’s New World Symphony (7 rehearsals)

Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 (New World Symphony)
Maurice Ravel: Piano Concerto in G Major
William Grant Still: Serenade

Conducted by Jed Gaylin, Music Director

  • Monday, September 9, 2024
  • Monday, September 16, 2024
  • Thursday, September 19, 2024
  • Monday, September 23, 2024
  • Monday, September 30, 2024
  • Thursday, October 3, 2024
  • Friday, October 4, 2024 Dress Rehearsal
  • Saturday, October 5, 2024, 7:30pm CONCERT

HSO Concert Cycle #2: Winter Fest (9 rehearsals)

Russel Steinberg: Light’s On!—A Hanukkah Celebration
Adolphus Hailstork: Three Spirituals
William Walton: Wise Virgins
Francis Poulenc: GloriaLori Hultgren, soprano; JHU Choral Society & BSA Choir; Mark Hardy, director

Conducted by Jed Gaylin, Music Director

  • Monday, October 14, 2024
  • Monday, October 21, 2024
  • Monday, October 28, 2024
  • Monday, November 4, 2024
  • Monday, November 11, 2024
  • Monday, November 18, 2024
  • NO REHEARSAL Monday, November 25, 2024 (JHU Thanksgiving Break)
  • Monday, December 2, 2024
  • Thursday, December 5, 2024
  • Friday, December 6, 2024 Dress Rehearsal
  • Saturday, December 7, 2024, 7:30PM CONCERT

HSO Concert Cycle #3: Rhapsodies & Beethoven (8 Rehearsals)

Georges Enesco: Romanian Rhapsody No. 2
Drew Zaremba: Rhapsody in Raag in Jog—Anjan Shah, Bansuri flute, tenor saxophone; Nabin Shrestha, tabla; Jonathan Epley, guitar; Amy Shook, bass; Sarah Morelli, Kathak artist
Beethoven: Symphony No. 7

Conducted by Jed Gaylin, Music Director

  • Monday, January 27, 2025
  • Monday, February 3, 2025
  • Monday, February 10, 2025
  • Monday, February 13, 2025
  • Monday, February 17, 2025
  • Monday, February 24, 2025
  • Thursday, February 27, 2025
  • Friday, February 28, 2025 – Dress Rehearsal
  • Saturday, March 1, 2025, 7:30PM CONCERT
  • Sunday, March 2, 2025, 3:00PM FAMILY CONCERT

Concert Cycle #4: HSOBruckner 4 (8 rehearsals)

Carl Nielsen: Flute ConcertoMarina Piccinini, flute
Franz & Karl Doppler: Fantasy on “Rigoletto”
Marina Piccinini and Giorgio Consolati, flute
Anton Bruckner: Symphony No. 4

Conducted by Jed Gaylin, Music Director

  • NO REHEARSAL Monday, March 3, 2025
  • Monday, March 10, 2025
  • NO REHEARSAL Monday, March 17, 2025 (Spring Break)
  • Monday, March 24, 2025
  • Thursday, March 27, 2025
  • Monday, March 31, 2025
  • Monday, April 7, 2025
  • Monday, April 14, 2025
  • Thursday, April 17, 2025
  • Friday, April 18, 2025 Dress Rehearsal
  • Saturday, April 19, 2025 7:30PM CONCERT

Concert Orchestra Rehearsals and Performances

  • All rehearsals are 2-4:30 p.m. except as noted.
  • All rehearsals take place at the Interfaith Center
  • For directions visit our Venues and Directions page.
  • Contact HSO for parking info.

HCO Concert Cycle #1: TBD

HCO Concert Cycle #2: TBD