Skip to Content

Saturday, October 24, 1998, 8:00 p.m.

“Art Creates Artists” Pre-concert lecture at 7:00 p.m. with Max Derrickson Samuel Adler: Art Creates Artists Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto in D Major, Opus 35 Xiao-po Fei, violin Felix Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 4 in A Major, Opus 90 Program Notes

Saturday, April 26, 1997, 8:00 p.m.

Pre-concert lecture at 7:00 p.m. Ludwig van Beethoven: Concerto for Violin, Violoncello, and Piano in C Major (“Triple”), Opus 56 Amadeus Trio Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade, Opus 35 Xiao-po Fei, violin Program Notes

Sunday, March 10, 1996, 3:00 p.m.

Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Romeo and Juliet Overture—Fantasy Albert Leman: Fortuna Desperata (American premiere) In memory of Elena Alexandrova Abrosimova Peter Sirotin, violin Ludwig van Beethoven: Concerto for Violin in D Major, Opus 61 Timothy Schwarz, violin Program Notes

Saturday, December 4, 1994, 8:00 p.m.

Benjamin Britten: Four Sea Interludes and Passacaglia Georges Bizet: Carmen Suite No. 1 Maurice Ravel: Tzigane Timothy Schwarz, violin Camille Saint-Saëns: Bacchanale from Samson and Delilah

Saturday, October 23, 1993, 8:00 p.m.

Ludwig van Beethoven: Coriolan Overture, Opus 62 W. A. Mozart: Violin Concerto in A Major, K. 219 Hilary Hahn, violin Edward Elgar: Enigma Variations, Opus 36

Saturday, December 7, 1991, 8:00 p.m.

Franz Joseph Haydn: Sinfonia Concertante in B-flat Major, Opus 84 Istvan Szabo, violin Lynn Glicklich, cello Keith Kaneda, oboe Margaret Pusztai, bassoon Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, Opus 17, “Little Russian”

Sunday, October 30, 1988, 3:00 p.m

Peggy Stuart Coolidge: New England Autumn Aaron Copland: Variations on a Shaker Melody Richard Strauss: Serenade for Winds Max Bruch: Violin Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Opus 26 Kenneth Goldstein, violin

Sunday, March 8, 1987, 3:00 p.m.

Germaine Tailleferre: Overture Witold Lutoslawski: Trauermusik Edvard Grieg: Peer Gynt Suite No. 1 Jean Sibelius: Violin Concerto in D Minor, Opus 47 Todor Pelev, violin

Sunday, April 20, 1986, 3:00 p.m.

Gioachino Rossini: Overture to La Scala di seta Felix Mendelssohn: Double Concerto in D Minor for Violin, Piano, and String Orchestra Joseph Bykov, violin Ruth Balis, piano Ralph Vaughan Williams: Fantasia on “Greensleeves” Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky: “Swan Lake” Suite Also: Repeated Friday, April 25, 1986 at 8:00 p.m. at the

Sunday, November 4, 1984, 3:00 p.m.

Also: Saturday, November 10, 1984, 8:15 p.m., Three Arts Club of Homeland, Baltimore W. A. Mozart: Overture to The Abduction from the Seraglio Felix Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E Minor, Opus 64 Todor Pelev, violin Elam Sprenkle: An Aubade World Premiere of the orchestral version commissioned by the Hopkins Symphony