Meet the Dietitian

The dietitian collaborates with the chefs and the rest of the culinary team to ensure that students have access to nutritious foods that meet special dietary needs and preferences. The dietitian can help you navigate the dining halls especially in regards to food allergies and healthy eating. Feel free to email [email protected] if you have any questions or would like to set up a consultation.

Nutritious Eating with Hopkins Dining

Hopkins Dining promotes healthful eating through its Nourish the Nest initiative. Read more about how to eat healthfully with Hopkins Dining here.

Special Diets and Food Allergies

Navigating the dining halls may seem stressful at first, especially if you have a specialized diet or food allergies. Hopkins Dining strives to create an inclusive eating environment by labeling foods that contain common allergens or meet special dietary preferences. Extensive menu planning guarantees that there will be many options for students with allergies or special preferences (e.g., vegan and vegetarian).

View our dietary allergen labels and dietary preference labels shown on our menus. Check out our Allergens & Special Diet Resource Guide to learn how to navigate our daily menus published on Nutrislice.

View our Halal Dining Guide for information about following a Halal diet on our campus.

Special Dietary Needs

Vegetarian and vegan food items are clearly labeled with vegetarian and vegan icons. Foods that contain pork or cooking alcohols (eg rice wine vinegar, white wine vinegar) are also identified.

Please note, all of our fresh chicken products are certified Halal. Examples include our grilled chicken which is available daily at all locations. These chicken products are indicated with the halal or use the term halal in their naming. The icon appears on our online website and on our menu boards at the location. If any of our meat-containing entrees use an ingredient considered haram (cooking alcohols, pork, non-certified meats or meat products like chicken stock), we do not tag the entrée with the Halal icon.

Food Allergies

Food allergens are clearly labeled, and nutrition facts and ingredient lists are published online so that you may know your options before entering the dining hall. The allergens labeled include coconut, egg, fish, gluten, milk, peanuts, sesame, shellfish, soy, tree nuts, and wheat.

Allergen Disclaimer

All-you-care to eat facilities may be susceptible to cross-contact due to their self-service approach. We strive to source, prepare and handle food properly to avoid the introduction of allergens into menu items. We take steps to prevent cross-contact, but do not have separate allergy-friendly kitchens and are unable to guarantee that a menu item is completely free of allergens. Allergen-friendly offerings and nutrition statements are reliant on supplier ingredient labels, and we cannot guarantee the accuracy of the contents of each food item. However, we strive to provide the most accurate and updated information as able. Allergen advisory statements (e.g. “may not contain”) are not regulated and therefore are not taken into consideration when developing allergy-friendly meals. It is ultimately our diner’s discretion to make an informed choice based upon their individual dietary needs. We recommend that guests work with dining services prior to dining in our facilities if they have specific dietary needs.