Panhellenic Association

Members from each of the five sororities stand together on Gilman Quad.

The National Panhellenic Conference (NPC) provides support and guidance for 26 inter/national sororities and serves as the national voice on contemporary issues of sorority life. Founded in 1902, NPC is one of the oldest and largest women’s membership organizations representing more than four million women at 655 college/university campuses and 4,500 local alumnae chapters in the U.S. and Canada. Each year, NPC-affiliated collegians and alumnae donate more than $5 million to worthy causes, provide $2.8 million in scholarships to women, and volunteer 500,000 hours in their communities.*

The local governing council, called the Panhellenic Association (PHA), is composed of delegates and an executive board made up of women from NPC member organizations. Currently, there are five inter/national social sororities on campus.


National Website Organization Letters (Founding Year) Local Chapter Designation (Charter Year) Local Chapter Website Philanthropy
Alpha Phi ΑΦ(1872) Zeta Omicron (1982) Zeta Omicron The Alpha Phi Foundation
Kappa Alpha Theta ΚΑΘ(1870) Zeta Chi (1997); Reinstalled (2014) Zeta Chi Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA)
Kappa Kappa Gamma ΚΚΓ(1870) Eta Epsilon (1999) Eta Epsilon Reading is Fundemental
Phi Mu ΦΜ(1852) Gamma Tau (1982) Gamma Tau Children's Miracle Network Hospitals (CMNH)
Pi Beta Phi ΠΒΦ(1867) Maryland Gamma(2010) Maryland Gamma Read>Lead>Achieve

Council Officers

Title Officer Chapter
President Curran McSwiggan Kappa Kappa Gamma
Vice President Sydney Gertzog Pi Beta Phi
Vice President of Administration Demy Alfonso Kappa Alpha Theta
Vice President of Finance Sharmila Tamby Alpha Phi
Vice President of Recruitment Barbara Merryman Phi Mu
Assistant Vice President of Recruitment Joan Golding Kappa Kappa Gamma
Vice President of Programming Bridgette Bolshem Kappa Alpha Theta
Vice President of Marketing Meghan McDermott Phi Mu
Delegate Megan Margraff Kappa Kappa Gamma
Delegate Abby Annear Kappa Alpha Theta
Delegate Katelyn Billings Pi Beta Phi
Delegate Megan Margraff Alpha Phi
Delegate Emily Stearns Phi Mu

Additional Resources for Sororities

*Language adapted from the association or conference website.