Academic Calendar

Academic calendars for full-time programs within the Krieger School of Arts & Sciences and Whiting School of Engineering are listed below. View academic calendars for Advanced Academic Programs and Engineering for Professionals.

Academic Year 2018-19

Fall 2018

Saturday, August 25–Wednesday, August 29Orientation for all new undergraduates
Thursday, August 30First day of classes
Meet according to Monday Schedule
Monday, September 3Labor Day – no classes
Friday, September 14Last day to add courses
Sunday, October 14Last day to drop courses
Friday, October 19–Sunday, October 21Fall Break – classes suspended
Monday, November 5Graduate registration for spring term
Monday, November 5 – Seniors
Wednesday, November 7 – Juniors
Friday, November 9 – Sophomores
Monday, November 12 – Freshmen
Undergraduate registration for spring term
opens each day at 7:00 a.m.
Friday, November 16Last day for course withdrawal
Undergraduate's last day to change to S/U option
Monday, November 19–Sunday, November 25Thanksgiving vacation
Friday, December 7Last day of classes
Saturday, December 8–Tuesday, December 11Reading period
Wednesday, December 12–Friday, December 21Final examination period
Saturday, December 22–Sunday, January 6Mid-year vacation

Spring 2019

Monday, January 7 - Friday, January 25Intersession
Monday, January 21Observance of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. birthday;
No Intersession classes
Monday, January 28First day of classes
Friday, February 8Last day to add courses
Sunday, March 10Last day to drop courses
Monday, March 18 - Sunday, March 24Spring vacation
Monday, April 8 – Rising and Continuing Seniors
Wednesday, April 10 – Rising and Continuing Juniors
Friday, April 12 – Rising and Continuing Sophomores
Undergraduate registration for fall term
opens each day at 7:00 a.m.
Monday, April 8Graduate registration for fall term
Friday, April 19Last day for course withdrawal
Undergraduate's last day to change to S/U option
Friday, May 3Last day of classes
Saturday, May 4 - Tuesday, May 7Reading period
Wednesday, May 8 - Thursday, May 16Final examination period
Thursday, May 23University Commencement

Future Calendars

Past Calendars