Academic Calendar

Academic calendars for full-time programs within the Krieger School of Arts & Sciences and Whiting School of Engineering are listed below. View academic calendars for Advanced Academic Programs and Engineering for Professionals.

PDF Document: Academic Year 2017-18

Fall 2017

Saturday, August 26–Wednesday, August 30 Orientation for all new undergraduates
Thursday, August 31 First day of classes
Meet according to Monday Schedule
Monday, September 4 Labor Day – no classes
Friday, September 15 Last day to add courses
Sunday, October 15 Last day to drop courses
Friday, October 20–Sunday, October 22 Fall Break – classes suspended
Monday, November 6 Graduate registration for spring term
Monday, November 6 – Seniors
Wednesday, November 8 – Juniors
Friday, November 10 – Sophomores
Monday, November 13 – Freshmen
Undergraduate registration for spring term
opens each day at 7:00 a.m.
Friday, November 17 Last day for course withdrawal
Undergraduate's last day to change to S/U option
Monday, November 20–Sunday, November 26 Thanksgiving vacation
Friday, December 8 Last day of classes
Saturday, December 9–Tuesday, December 12 Reading period
Wednesday, December 13–Friday, December 22 Final examination period
Saturday, December 23–Sunday, January 7 Mid-year vacation

Spring 2018

Monday, January 8 - Friday, January 26 Intersession
Monday, January 15 Observance of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. birthday;
No Intersession classes
Monday, January 29 First day of classes
Friday, February 9 Last day to add courses
Sunday, March 11 Last day to drop courses
Monday, March 19 - Sunday, March 25 Spring vacation
Monday, April 9 – Rising and Continuing Seniors
Wednesday, April 11 – Rising and Continuing Juniors
Friday, April 13 – Rising and Continuing Sophomores
Undergraduate registration for fall term
opens each day at 7:00 a.m.
Monday, April 16 Graduate registration for fall term
Friday, April 20 Last day for course withdrawal
Undergraduate's last day to change to S/U option
Friday, May 4 Last day of classes
Saturday, May 5 - Tuesday, May 8 Reading period
Wednesday, May 9 - Thursday, May 17 Final examination period
Thursday, May 24 University Commencement

Future Calendars

Past Calendars